Neighboring districts

 

Neighboring districts

Miory district

The waterfall on the Viata river is a great place for those who love picturesque landscapes.

In the XIX century, there was a water mill, the ruins of which can still be seen today. In the middle of the last century, the river supplied electricity to the settlements located in its vicinity. In order to increase the power of the hydroelectric power plant, an artificial two-meter waterfall was constructed. The power plant did not operate for long, in the 60s of the last century it fell into disrepair.

One can get to the waterfall via the agro-town of Druja (the village of Idolta and the village of Milašova should be used as a landmark) or via Miory (the direction of the village of Idolta and the village of Milašova).

The Jelnia swamp is the largest upland swamp in Belarus and the fifth largest in Europe. There are ecological trails here, and one can book an excursion.

Pastavy district

  • Pastavy, Tyzengauz Palace. Currently, there is a museum with an exposition consisting of 3 parts: the first one is dedicated to the Tyzengauzs — the owners of the palace, the second one — to the cavalry school, the third one — to the First World War.
  • The village of Paryž. This village has its own Eiffel Tower.
  • Kamai. This is a small village with one of the oldest cathedrals in Belarus. The Cathedral of St. John the Baptist was built in 1603-1606 and belongs to the defensive type of temples (rare for Belarus). The oldest organ in Belarus is also located here.
  • Lyntupy. Here you can see the manor of the Mishevskys and the Cathedral of St. Andrew the Apostle.

Hlubokaje district

Hlubokaje. The main attractions of the city are the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity and the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin, which are located in front of each other and have similar appearance.

Another interesting place in the city of Hlubokaje is the small Сatholic Chapel of St. Elijah (1804). Next to the chapel, there is also a memorial column in honor of adoption of the Constitution of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth on May 3, 1791. There are practically no monuments to this event in Belarus. By the way, there is a similar column in Miory district (the village of Liavonpaĺ).

Mosar

The main attraction of the village of Mosar is the Cathedral of St. Anna (1792). This cathedral is famous in Belarus and abroad for its facilities, many of which are the only ones of their kind in Belarus. These include the first monument to John Paul II constructed in Belarus, the Alley of Sobriety and the only anti-alcohol museum in Belarus, etc. The splendor of the cathedral and its well-maintained condition are due to the inexhaustible energy of Priest Juozas Bulka (1925-2010), who came to serve in the village of Mosar in 1989. Most of the facilities were created through his efforts and under his leadership, or even directly by him.